The BCPC Weeds Working Group meets three times a year and delivers the annual BCPC Weeds Review to an invited audience which includes researchers, advisers, growers and industry representatives. The Review comprises presentations from invited speakers on topics of current interest.

The 56th Annual BCPC Weeds Review took place on 14 November 2019 – To access speaker presentations click here

The 55th Annual BCPC Weeds Review took place on 7 November 2018 – To access the speaker presentations  click here

The 54th Annual BCPC Weeds Review took place on 9 November 2017 – To access the speaker presentations click here


The annual BCPC Weeds Review provides an excellent forum for debate and discussion on the current hot topics on weed control in crop protection. It looks at emerging technologies and offers attendees an excellent networking opportunity. Jason Tatnell - 2016 Weed Review Chairman

Current membership of the group is

Name Company Email address Additional information
Barrie Hunt (chairman) Gowan
Gowan Member of EHRAC.
Board Member Heather Trust.
Member of the Bracken Control Group.
BCPC Executive member
Lynn Tatnell (secretary) ADAS
ADAS Weed Research.
EWRS member.
Tim Martin AICC
AICC Independent agronomist working for farm businesses in East Anglia.
Jim Orson BCPC
BCPC/NIAB Weed biologist
BCPC Executive member
Ingrid Den Hoed Defra / Chemicals Regulations Directorate
Defra WRAG Member.
Member EPPO working party on herbicides.
Julian Hasler NFU
NFU Farmer
NFU representative
Paul Fogg Frontier Agriculture Ltd
Frontier Agriculture Crop protection specialist
Richard Hull Rothamsted Research
Rothamsted Research Weed Research.
EWRS Member.
WRAG secretary
Peter Lutman Ex-Rothamsted
  Weed biology and control specialist
EWRS Member
Paul Gosling AHDB arable
AHDB Arable AHDB crop protection specialist
Joe Martin AHDB Horticulture
AHDB Horticulture Crop protection lead for horticulture.
Bob Froud- Williams Ex-Reading University
  Weed biology specialist
Past president EWRS
Gordon Anderson-Taylor Bayer CropSciences Limited
Bayer Herbicide R&D
WRAG Member
Nicola Perry Corteva
Corteva Herbicide technical specialist
Georgina Wood Syngenta
Syngenta Herbicide technical specialist
David Roberts Adama
Adama Herbicide technical specialist
Martin Richards SRUC
SRUC Weed biology and herbicide control
Nick Tillett Tillett & Hague
Tillet & Hague Mechanical weed control
Brian Taylor Knotweed company
Knotweed Company Invasive weed control
Jon Bellamy NIAB