.

Diseases

The purpose of the BCPC Diseases Working Group is to provide a forum for discussion on plant health issues, relevant new legislation, new developments and research. The group organises an annual review for an invited audience, the first review was held in December 2014. It also acts as a lobby to influence potential funding for crop protection and to provide expert opinion to inform policy makers.

The 4th Annual BCPC Diseases Review took place at the NIAB Conference Centre, (Sophi Taylor Building) Histon, Cambridge on Friday 12 October 2018. Details of the programme and speaker presentations form the event can be found here 

This is an invitation only event.

"Crop health protection research cannot be considered in isolation. Along with researchers, innovation needs regulators, educators, inspectors, advisors and practitioners to provide training, skills and knowledge exchange. The BCPC Diseases Review provides an excellent forum to discuss key issues." Prof. Ian Crute - AHDB

Current membership of the group is

Name Company Email address Additional information
David Stormonth (chairman) david.stormonth@btinternet.com  
Jon West (secretary) Rothamsted Research
jon.west@rothamsted.ac.uk  
Graham Jellis BCPC
graham.jellis@gmail.com  
Jane Thomas NIAB/TAG
jane.thomas@niab.com  
Fiona Burnett SRUC and FRAG
fiona.burnett@sruc.ac.uk  
David Howard HL Hutchinson
david.howard@farmacy.plc.uk  
Michael Csukai Syngenta and British Soc for Plant Pathology
michael.csukai@syngenta.com  
David Feuerhelm British Soc Plant Breeders and Syngenta Seeds
david.feuerhelm@syngenta.com  
Jonathan Blake ADAS
Jonathan.blake@adas.co.uk  
Mike Ashworth Corteva
Mike.Ashworth@dupont.com  
Barry McKeown BASF
barry.mckeown@basf.com  
Cathryn Lambourne AHDB
Cathryn.Lambourne@ahdb.org.uk  
Jason Tatnell Syngenta
Jason.Tatnell@syngenta.com  
Robert Lockhart NFU
robert.lockhart@btconnect.com  
Alan Horgan Certis
Horgan@certiseurope.com  
Jo O'Leary-Quinn CRD
Jo.O'Leary-Quinn@hse.gov.uk CRD – For liaison purposes