.

Pests & Beneficials

The BCPC Pests and Beneficials Working Group was established in March 2015. The purpose of the group is to provide a forum for discussion of relevant research results and new legislation and new legislation, and impact on integrated pest management,

The group meets three times a year and delivers an Annual Review to an invited audience, including researchers, advisers, growers and industry. The first review was held on Tuesday 16 February 2016 at NIAB Park Farm, Cambridge and comprised presentations from invited speakers on topics of current interest including: pests in oilseed rape, bees and the impact of neonicotinoid withdrawal, with particular emphasis on practical utility in agriculture and horticulture.

The 4th Annual Review is scheduled to be held on Wednesday 30 January 2019 at Rothamsted Research – for more details click here.

"Research faces challenges to improve the evidence base. Potential conflicts of interest must be overcome in addition to bias and incentives that drive research pursuits." Charles Godfray - University of Oxford

Current membership of the group is

Name Company Email address Additional information
Caroline Nicholls (chairman) Prime Agriculture
caroline.nicholls@primeag.co.uk IRAG member
VI steering group member
Prime Agriculture
Tom Pope Harper Adams University
tpope@harper-adams.ac.uk Fellow of the Royal Entomological Society
IRAG member
Jon Knight AHDB Horticulture
jon.knight@ahdb.org.uk AHDB Head of Crop Health and Protection.
Defra Animal and Plant Health Advisory UK Group member.
BBSRC Sustainable Agriculture Research and Innovation Club (SARIC) member
Colin Ruscoe BCPC
colin.ruscoe@bcpc.org Chairman, BCPC.
Director, SynTech Research.
Scientific Committee, IVCC
Mark Stevens BBRO
mark.stevens@bbro.co.uk IRAG member
Pest & Disease group of the International Institute for Beet Research, member
Nicky Tideswell CRD
nicky.tideswell@hse.gsi.gov.uk  
Julian Hasler NFU
julian.hasler@farmline.com  
Sam Cook Rothamsted Research
sam.cook@rothamsted.ac.uk  
Alan Dewar Dewar Crop Protection
alan@dewarcropprotection.co.uk  
Larissa Collins (secretary) FERA
Larissa.collins@fera.co.uk IRAG member
Fellow of the Royal Entomological Society
Member of the Royal Entomological Society Outreach & Development Committee
Chris Parsons Bayer Crop Protection
chris.parsons@bayer.com  
Andy Evans SRUC
andy.evans@sruc.ac.uk  
Chris Hartfield NFU
chris.hartfield@nfu.org.uk  
Becky Hilton Corteva
rmhilton@dow.com  
Sacha White ADAS
sacha.white@adas.co.uk  
Laurence Power Certis
power@certiseurope.com  
Michael Thornton Procam
michaelthornton@procam.co.uk  
Michael Tait Syngenta
michael.tait@syngenta.com  
Rachel Wells James Hutton Institute
rachel.wells@jic.ac.uk  
Charlotte Rowley AHDB
charlotte.rowley@ahdb.org.uk