Pests & Beneficials

The BCPC Pests and Beneficials Working Group was established in March 2015. The purpose of the group is to provide a forum for discussion of relevant research results and new legislation and new legislation, and impact on integrated pest management,

The group meets three times a year and delivers an Annual Review to an invited audience, including researchers, advisers, growers and industry. The first review was held on Tuesday 16 February 2016 at NIAB Park Farm, Cambridge and comprised presentations from invited speakers on topics of current interest including: pests in oilseed rape, bees and the impact of neonicotinoid withdrawal, with particular emphasis on practical utility in agriculture and horticulture.

The 3rd Annual Review is scheduled to be held on Wednesday 31 January 2018 at Rothamsted Research – for more details click here.

"Research faces challenges to improve the evidence base. Potential conflicts of interest must be overcome in addition to bias and incentives that drive research pursuits." Charles Godfray - University of Oxford

Current membership of the group is

Name Company Email address Additional information
Caroline Nicholls (chairman) Prime Agriculture
caroline.nicholls@primeag.co.uk IRAG member
VI steering group member
Prime Agriculture
Tom Pope Harper Adams University
tpope@harper-adams.ac.uk Royal Entomological Society
IRAG member
Jon Knight AHDB Horticulture
jon.knight@ahdb.org.uk BCPC Diseases Working group member
BBSRC Sustatinable Agriulture Research and Innovation Club (SARIC) member
Sue Cowgill AHDB Potatoes
sue.cowgill@ahdb.org.uk AHDB
Colin Ruscoe BCPC
colin.ruscoe@bcpc.org Chairman, BCPC.
Director, SynTech Research.
Scientific Committee, IVCC
Mark Stevens BBRO
mark.stevens@bbro.co.uk IRAG member
Pest & Disease group of the International Institute for Beet Research, member
Sue Mattock CRD
Julian Hasler NFU
Sam Cook Rothamsted Research
Steve Ellis ADAS
Alan Dewar Dewar Crop Protection
Larissa Collins (secretary) FERA
larissa.collins@fera.gsi.gov.uk IRAG member
Dilwyn Harris Dow AgroSciences
dharris@dow.com IRAG memebr
BCPC Weeds Working Group member
Adrian Sisson DuPont
adrian.sisson@dupont.com IRAG member
Nigel Adam Bayer Crop Protection
nigel.adam@bayer.com IRAG member
Hazel Doonan AIC
hazel.doonan@agindustries.org.uk VI Steering Group member
Andy Evans SRUC
Jon Curzon Natural England
Emma Hamer NFU