.

Pests & Beneficials

The BCPC Pests and Beneficials Working Group was established in March 2015. The purpose of the group is to provide a forum for discussion of relevant research results and new legislation and new legislation, and impact on integrated pest management,

The group meets three times a year and delivers an Annual Review to an invited audience, including researchers, advisers, growers and industry. The first review was held on Tuesday 16 February 2016 at NIAB Park Farm, Cambridge and comprised presentations from invited speakers on topics of current interest including: pests in oilseed rape, bees and the impact of neonicotinoid withdrawal, with particular emphasis on practical utility in agriculture and horticulture.

The 5th Annual Review is scheduled to be held on Wednesday 29 January 2020 at Rothamsted Research – for more details click here.

"Research faces challenges to improve the evidence base. Potential conflicts of interest must be overcome in addition to bias and incentives that drive research pursuits." Charles Godfray - University of Oxford

Current membership of the group is

Name Company Email address Additional information
Larissa Collins (Chair) Fera
Larissa.collins@fera.co.uk Entomology Team Leader
IRAG member
Fellow of the Royal Entomological Society
Member of the Royal Entomological Society Outreach & Development Committee
Charlotte Rowley (secretary) AHDB
charlotte.rowley@ahdb.org.uk  
Caroline Nicholls Defra
caroline.nicholls@defra.gov.uk IRAG member
Defra Pesticides Team
Tom Pope Harper Adams University
tpope@harper-adams.ac.uk Fellow of the Royal Entomological Society
IRAG member
Jon Knight jon_d_knight@btinternet.com Independent consultant
Defra Animal and Plant Health Advisory UK Group member.
BBSRC Sustainable Agriculture Research and Innovation Club (SARIC) member
Colin Ruscoe BCPC
colin.ruscoe@bcpc.org Chairman, BCPC.
Director, SynTech Research.
Scientific Committee, IVCC
Nicky Tideswell CRD
nicky.tideswell@hse.gsi.gov.uk  
Julian Hasler NFU
julian.hasler@farmline.com  
Sam Cook Rothamsted Research
sam.cook@rothamsted.ac.uk Senior Research Scientist.
Society & Entomology Convenor of the IOBC Working Group on Integrated Control in Oilseeds.
Alan Dewar Dewar Crop Protection
alan@dewarcropprotection.co.uk  
Chris Parsons Bayer Crop Protection
chris.parsons@bayer.com Agronomic solutions manager for arable herbicides and insecticides for the UK and Netherlands.
Andy Evans SRUC
andy.evans@sruc.ac.uk  
Chris Hartfield NFU
chris.hartfield@nfu.org.uk  
Becky Hilton Corteva
rmhilton@dow.com  
Sacha White ADAS
sacha.white@adas.co.uk Senior Research Entomologist.
IRAG secretary.
Laurence Power Certis
power@certiseurope.com  
Michael Thornton Procam
michaelthornton@procam.co.uk  
Rachel Wells James Hutton Institute
rachel.wells@jic.ac.uk Senior Scientist, Crop Genetics.
Honorary lecturer at UEA
Max Newbert Syngenta
max.newbert@syngenta.com  
Tom Pope Harper Adams University
tpope@harper-adams.ac.uk