Diseases

The purpose of the BCPC Diseases Working Group is to provide a forum for discussion on plant health issues, relevant new legislation, new developments and research. The group organises an annual review for an invited audience, the first review was held in December 2014. It also acts as a lobby to influence potential funding for crop protection and to provide expert opinion to inform policy makers.

The 3rd Annual BCPC Diseases Review took place at the NIAB Conference Centre, (Sophi Taylor Building) Histon, Cambridge on Wednesday 7 December 2016.
The theme of this year’s event was: “Emerging technologies for Improved Disease Management.”
For programme details visit the Events page here. Speaker’s presentations will be posted shortly.

The 2nd BCPC Diseases Review took place at the NIAB Conference Centre on 3 December 2015. Copies of the presentations are now available on the event page click here to access.

This is an invitation only event.

"Crop health protection research cannot be considered in isolation. Along with researchers, innovation needs regulators, educators, inspectors, advisors and practitioners to provide training, skills and knowledge exchange. The BCPC Diseases Review provides an excellent forum to discuss key issues." Prof. Ian Crute - AHDB

Current membership of the group is

Name Company Email address Additional information
David Stormonth (chairman) david.stormonth@btinternet.com  
Jon West (secretary) Rothamsted Research
jon.west@rothamsted.ac.uk  
Graham Jellis BCPC
graham.jellis@gmail.com  
Andrew Barr NFU
a.barr@eastlenhamfarm.co.uk  
Jane Thomas NIAB/TAG
jane.thomas@niab.com  
Neil Paverley ADAS
neil.paveley@adas.co.uk  
Fiona Burnett SRUC and FRAG
fiona.burnett@sruc.ac.uk  
David Howard HL Hutchinson
david.howard@farmacy.plc.uk  
Sian Deller Syngenta and British Soc of Plant Pathology
sian.deller@syngenta.com  
Andrew Flind Bayer CropSciences Limited
andrew.flind@bayer.com  
Jon Knight AHDB
jon.knight@hdc.ahdb.org.uk  
David Feuerhelm British Soc Plant Breeders and Syngenta Seeds
david.feuerhelm@syngenta.com  
Paul Ashby, CRD Chemicals Regulation Directorate (CRD)
paul.ashby@hse.gsi.gov.uk for liaison purposes